The Beauty of Fall by Jonathan Burchard

I love living in an area that has four seasons. I am easily bored and prone to take things for granted–situations and relationships. I also tend to grump about anything, even good things, so I’m pretty confident that I would find something bad about experiencing perfect weather every day.

The change of seasons makes me stop and reflect, though. I’m reminded that I’m not in control of most things, except my responses. I also take time to consider life–where I’ve been and where I’m headed. Fall reminds me of college days in beautiful Colonial Williamsburg. I remember taking walks with my future wife and pondering the big questions of life.

In this season of my life, Fall reminds me of pending death in the life cycle. Why so much beauty before winter? Maybe it’s because God is the beautiful redeemer who takes the sting out of death and makes all things new. Maybe it’s a reminder that there is beauty and purpose every day, regardless of our limitations, because each moment is full of His purposes.

“For everything there is a season, and time for every matter under heaven:…” Ecclesiastes 3:1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

